Dstv Dailynews  Mobile

Top drivers brace for ‘Zig Zag Tanga Rally’

The first was Vaisakhi Rally of Moshi held from March 21-22 in Moshi. Chairman of the rally organising committee, Mehul Asher, said preparations for the event to be flagged off by the Minister for Information, Youth, Culture and Sports, Fenella Mukangara, are going on well, adding that the race will cover a total of 135 kilometres.

He said drivers will be flagged off from Tanga Beach Resort to Pongwe, Mkanyageni and Mjesani and get back through the same route. “We expect drivers from different regions to register for the rally.

Top drivers from Arusha, Morogoro, Dar es Salaam and host Tanga are expected to compete in the rally,” he said, adding that they expect a good number as drivers from Kenya and Uganda will also enrol to compete. Asher said this year’s rally will be thrilling, but intriguing basing on the challenging routes the drivers have to face.

He also said the winners will receive various awards during the presentation ceremony at Popatlal Secondary School shortly after the rally.

Gurjit Singh Dhani, winner of the Vaisakhi Rally, currently leads the 2015 overall NRC drivers standing on 25 points. Dharam Pandya is close second on 18 points, while Jamil Hamidu Khan is third on 15 points. The winner of the NRC will be decided after the final round of the national competition.

The third event will be Arusha Rally planned for July 25-26; the fourth round will be Mzizima Rally of Dar es Salaam, which will run from August 15-16.

Dar es Salaam Motor Sports Club (DMSC) will host the fifth round of the NRC from September 12-13 and then Guru Nanak Arusha will stage the sixth event from November 7 to 8.

The final round of the 2015 NRC calendar will be Morogoro Rally to be staged from December 12-13.

AFTER making a stoppage time penalty save against ...

Author: DAILY NEWS Reporter

Post your comments

Recent Posts


more headlines in our related posts

latest # news