Dstv Dailynews  Mobile

PS Iyombe moved from Defence to Works ministry

According to a press statement issued on Thursday by the Chief Secretary, Mr Ombeni Sefue, Eng. Iyombe takes over from Eng. John Stanslaus Ndunguru, who will be assigned new duties.

Iyombe’s transfer to the ministry follows President Kikwete’s sweeping changes in the permanent secretaries line-up announced on Wednesday, in a bid to improve efficiency in the running of the government.

The reshuffle has seen some new faces coming in and a number of deputy permanent secretaries promoted. Several permanent secretaries have been left out and will be assigned new duties, according to Chief Secretary Ombeni Sefue, who made the announcement on Wednesday..

Those left out include Mr Sethi Kamuhanda (Information, Youth, Culture and Sports), Mr Omary Chambo (Transport) and Ms Kijakazi Mtengwa (Community Development, Gender and Children).

The new appointments include Prof Sifuni Mchome, who has been appointed PS in the Ministry of Education and Vocational Training. Prof Mchome was the Executive Secretary of the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU).

The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Communication, Science and Technology, Dr Florens Turuka, has been moved to the Prime Minister’s Office, while Ms Joyce Mapunjo, who was PS in the Ministry of Industry and Trade, becomes PS in the Ministry of East African Cooperation.

Ms Mapunjo takes over from Dr Stergomena Tax, who has been elected the Executive Secretary of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). Dr Turuka fills in the post which was held by Mr Peniel Lyimo, who has been appointed Deputy Chief Executive of the President’s Delivery Bureau.

“In his new position, Mr Lyimo will be charged with establishing a unit to transform the agricultural sector,” Mr Sefue said. The Chief Secretary also said the Acting Chief Medical Officer (CMO), Dr Donath Mmbando, has been confirmed in the post.

Former CMO, Dr Deo Mtasiwa, who was suspended by Prime Minister Mizengo Pinda alongside the PS in the Ministry of Health, Ms Blandina Nyoni, has been appointed Deputy PS in PMO (Regional Administration and Local Governments) where he will oversee the health sector.

Mr Jumanne Sagini has been promoted to PS in the Prime Minister’s Office (Regional Administration and Local Governments). Before the appointment, Mr Sagini was Deputy PS in the same office.

Dr Servacius Likwelile has been promoted to PS in the Ministry of Finance, taking over from Mr Ramadhan Khijjah, who has retired. Dr Likwelile was Mr Khijah’s deputy in the ministry.




THE Evangelical Lutheran Church of ...

Author: DAILY NEWS Reporter

Post your comments

Recent Posts


more headlines in our related posts

latest # news