Winners brighten DGC centenary


IT was a colourful gala night for members of Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club celebrating the club’s centenary in the event heralded by the trio; Aasim Rahim, Novatus Temba and Munish Khattar the winners of sporting events staged at the club.

The big multi-sports club, Dar es Salaam Gymkhana celebrated its 100th anniversary over the weekend by staging various sports, being played at the club’s course, courts and grounds. Alongside sporting events, the club also organized a dinner gala graced by the Minister for Information, Culture, Arts and Sports, Dr Harrison Mwakyembe.

The youthful Rahim claimed the top prize in golf after beating other contenders in a grueling 36-hole competition. He posted 81 stable ford points, to beat his closest challenger, Victor Joseph who ended the overall runner up.

The golf event also saw Division A title going to Morogoro Gymkhana Club’s Gregory Nikitas who penned 73 stable ford points while the runner up title went to Amani Saidi with 70 points.

Division B title went to Dar Gymkhana’s Mohamed Rahim with 73 points who won on count-back after tying with Eric Wanyeche from Lugalo Golf Club who finished second. Lugalo Club golfers dominated the Division C with Simon Mwangi and Samwel Mosha finishing first and second with 73 and 70 points respectively.

DGC’s Gautam Chavda fired 68 stableford points to win senior title as second place went to Adam Ngamilo who returned 63 points. Rehema Athumani fired 73 points to win Ladies title as Hemyung Rhee who carved 70 points finished second.

Juniors category title was also dominated by Lugalo golfers. Likuli Juma who returned 39 points and Zabroni Hamisi with 37 finished as the category winner and the runner up respectively. Eric Tango won the Day One tournament while Mwanaidi Ibrahim was the best golfer in Day Two tee off.

The tournament also saw Novatus Temba winning wheelchair tennis title after beating a Kenyan champion, Collins Odimo by 6-3, 6-2 in the final. Rehema Selemani beat Phoebe Masika 6-4, 6-0 to win ladies title.

Cleopatra Papadimitriou beat Rehema Athumani 7-5,6-3 to win ladies tennis title while men’s title went to Waziri Rajabu with runner up title going to Godwin Mhina. Khattar won a snooker title while Akil Akberali emerged the runner up while the hosts Dar Gymkhana claimed the football title ahead of Bank ABC who finished second.

CardealPage Co. Ltd
Gwiji la Habari Tanzania
Official Website for TSN
Sponsored Links
Advertise Here